What's new

How best to connect a TV to a Motorola DVR/Cable box (DCH3416) with one HDMI port? (1 Viewer)

CrabbyGuy

Auditioning
Real Name
Adrian D. LeRoy
I'm just wiring up a home theater. I want the TV (Sony KDL-46EX710) to be able to play with its sound either (1) coming out of the receiver (Sony DA3500ES) and speakers or (2) the TV speakers for news and such, preferably with the receiver turned off.

The cable box has one digital video output (HDMI). What is the best way to wire this? HDMI splitters seem not to work well or reliably. Is the quality of the video signal loss using some analog video from the cable box tolerable?

Thanks!

(Your patience, please. I'm a newbie.)

CB750

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bill
Welcome Adrian

This may not be the answer you want to hear but why on earth would you want to listen to anything using the crappy speakers that come with today's flat screens. They will only make you a Crabby Guy.

In today's AV world the receiver serves as the hub of your system where all of your connections are made, and the downside of this is the receiver is part of the system. You are going to want to connect your cable box to your receiver with an HDMI cable and connect the receiver to your TV with a HDMI cable. Under this arrangement your TV becomes nothing more than a Monitor, and the audio from you cable box is passed to the receiver. The reason it is difficult to deviate from this the fact that you Sony TV will down grade its audio signal to two channel stereo when it is connected with a cable box.

The only way to achieve what you want is to connect the cable box to the TV with HDMI, and connect your cable box with an optical or digital out to your receiver. This will force you to manually switch off your TV speakers when you want to use your receiver.

CrabbyGuy

Auditioning
Real Name
Adrian D. LeRoy
Bill,

I appreciate the response.