What's new

Home Theater Installation Charge? (1 Viewer)

Jeff Weight

Stunt Coordinator
Sorry if this is the wrong forum for this thread.

I’ve been asked to install a home theater in the home of one of my parent’s friends. The home owners are only acquaintances to me, and have agreed to pay me for my time.

So how much should I charge them an hour, what is a fair rate? I realize I’m not a professional installer, but I have run wire and hooked up 7 home theaters. Obviously I don’t want to overcharge them, as I’d like them to refer me to others. Part of this job includes making equipment recommendations, purchasing all the wire & incidentals, and programming a universal remote control. I don’t want to charge a flat rate as I know I will have to continually educate them on how the system works, and correct any snafu’s they cause.

Your advice and suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,

Jeff

Tom McGary

Auditioning
Jeff,
maybe my story can give you some guidelines...

I installed a modest HT for friends of my parents. Didnt really know them at all myself. So I set a 'flate rate' price in my head of what I thought would be a fair number that they wouldnt balk (bawk?) at and make my parents look bad. I think my total hours were under 10; this included, like you, recommendation on consumer audio and video products, running cabling and hooking everything up, and educational session: basic room acoustics (some installation of bass traps and bookshelves with books to act as a rear diffuser) and remote control 101. I charged them $200...which comes out to $20/hour which was much more I made at my mall job at the time :D . They didnt seem to flinch at the price and everyone walked away happy. If you are going to be doing anything more skilled (framing out walls, more detailed acoustic treatments) you could ask for more.