1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Hi-Definition NO DIFFERENCE

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by Qui-Gon John, Jun 24, 2006.

  1. Qui-Gon John

    Qui-Gon John Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see that now the HTF logo says, "Now in High Definition". Well I gotta tell you, the picture quality of the web site seems the same to me. [​IMG]


    The above is just a joke, so nobody freak out.
     
  2. Marc Colella

    Marc Colella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 1999
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe the website is being presented on Blu-Ray. [​IMG]
     
  3. Kelly Grannell

    Kelly Grannell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    can't be BluRay, I don't see MB and other MPEG2 artifacts. Maybe it's just poorly mastered HD DVD. [​IMG]
     
  4. Jordan_E

    Jordan_E Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    "That's gold, Jerry! GOLD!" [​IMG]
     
  5. Ed St. Clair

    Ed St. Clair Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your just playing the wrong side of the combo (SD & HD) site! ;-)
     
  6. RobertR

    RobertR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1998
    Messages:
    9,663
    Likes Received:
    153
    You gotta wait for 50gb and the new codecs to see the difference. [​IMG]
     
  7. John Troutman

    John Troutman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hang on - is your browser connected with HDMI or component?
     
  8. Ed St. Clair

    Ed St. Clair Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to buy a new display to take full advantage of HD!
    or
    You need to recalibrate your display to take full advantage of HD!
    or
    You need gazzillon dollar interconnects to take full advantage of HD!
    or
    You need a Monster Power Line Conditioner, other wise HD will not work!
     
  9. GregK

    GregK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    179
    Sorry about the inconvenience... I think Ron was worried about piracy, so the image constraint token was activated.
     
  10. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,149
    Likes Received:
    242
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    Hmm. Seems we're using the 1080i 3-2 pull down master, the so-called 1080i60htf3-2pd.
    None of you are on www.hdhtf.com, aren't you? And you are bobbing us?


    Cees
     
  11. Terry-A

    Terry-A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    REMEMBER,
    YOU KEEP WHAT YOU KILL....
    guess i have to keep my samsung blu ray because i just killed it....
     
  12. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    44,718
    Likes Received:
    3,681
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I just stumbled on this thread.

    You guys are friggin' nuts! [​IMG]
     
  13. AlexBC

    AlexBC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    This thread had me laughing out loud. Really great stuff guys. ; )
     
  14. Hank_P

    Hank_P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    well, I'm waiting the the logo to become HDMI 1.3 compliant, or I'm not changing my current setup.
     
  15. Qui-Gon John

    Qui-Gon John Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2000
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    My page seems to be suffering a bit of EE. [​IMG]
     
  16. DaViD Boulet

    DaViD Boulet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    3
    The problem is that HTF isn't using VC1 compression for their images.
     
  17. Steve Tannehill

    Steve Tannehill Ambassador

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1997
    Messages:
    5,550
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    DFW
    Real Name:
    Steve Tannehill

    You're just now figuring this out? [​IMG]

    - Steve
     
  18. rich_d

    rich_d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Real Name:
    Rich
    Funny Stuff.

    Agreed. The resolution seems the same. Maybe it just cost more to run.
     
  19. BrentJ

    BrentJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need Firmware 1.40 to get the full effect!
     
  20. dana martin

    dana martin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    Real Name:
    Dana Martin
    ok so where is the 7.1 Sound , brought up the podcast and it sounds the same, maybe i need to tweak my system
     

Share This Page