What's new

Help with Speaker Layout (Odd Room Layout) (1 Viewer)

Knock Wood

Auditioning
Real Name
Sarah
Hi all, I'm pretty new to this and I'm trying to figure out the ideal speaker placement for a 5.1 system in my odd shaped room with plenty of obstructions. The speakers are wall mounts.

I wanted to attach an image, but I keep getting an error message so I'll try my best to describe the room layout.

It is an L shape that is app. 26' long and 12.5' wide in the part of the room the TV will be in. Unfortunately, the only wall that works for the TV is only 9' long with an open hallway on one side. The TV will be centered on that wall. It is a 60" (app. 54" wide), which leaves 27" of wall space on each side.

That puts the sectional at the open intersection of the L app. 10.5' from the TV. So there is basically no wall near the back or one end of the sectional.

My initial thoughts were to put the front left and right speakers on the side walls closest to the TV, but due to some wiring and duct work, they would have to be 41" in front of the center. The other option is beside the 60" (54" width) TV, but there is only 27" of space on each side. Neither seems ideal, but I think I need to choose one.

As I said the the room around the sectional is open on one side, but there is a column on the open side of the room. I could mount a speaker to that but I'm afraid it is too far behind the sectional. It would be app. 4' behind the sectional and 3' to the side. I could move the sectional back slightly. to get closer. Again, not ideal.

I'm not sure what to do. Suggestions/advice would be appreciated. If I can get an image to post I'll put up a drawing. It may be because I'm new that I'm unable to post an attachment.

Knock Wood

Auditioning
Real Name
Sarah
Layout.jpg
Layout.jpg

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam