What's new

Help, Onkyo 805 DolbyHD and DTS HD (1 Viewer)

matthew_rm

Second Unit
Real Name
Real name
Im new to the high def world, and need some help. I upgraded my old Denon 2802 to an Onkyo 805 for the new surround formats. (And better everything
htf_images_smilies_smile.gif
I own a sharp blu-ray disk player. I hooked it up via HDMI. I put in a disk, and select the DolbyTrueHD or DTS HD track in the menu, and press play. When it starts, the receiver only plays in Normal DD or DTS. I am pretty sure it will light up the 'HD" portion of the display when it plays the lossless audio track. I checked the menu's on both the receiver, and the player. Everything is set to "Auto." Im only running 5.1, but I read it will will play fine.

What could be the problem? The manual doesn't give me an answer as far as I could tell. Is it possible my HDMI cable is the issue? Im not sure if its 1.3 or not..I didn't think it mattered. Any help/advise would be great! Thanks a bunch in advance.

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
If you were previously connecting your BluRay player to your old receiver via digital optical/coax, you may not have it setup properly for outputting high-res audio. Have you setup your BD player to bitstream its audio output via HDMI to your receiver?

marcIs

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
marc turcotte