1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

HELP!!! I installed 236 firmware upgrade on my RP91 and now NO DVDs WORK!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ScottH, Dec 15, 2001.

  1. ScottH

    ScottH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    71
    Real Name:
    Scott
    I just installed the 236 upgrade on my RP91 (went from 155), used the ISO file with EasyCD to create CD from CD image. I inserted the disc, it asked me if I wanted to update, I said yes. It finished and now no matter what DVD I put in, it says "Disc will not play in your region".

    Did this happen to anyone else?
     
  2. Miles_W

    Miles_W Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2000
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow Scott, that is bizarre, I have not heard of this problem before. I did the upgrade and it worked no problem. I hope someone can provide you with answers soon. Have you tired reflashing it...

    Miles
     
  3. Eric T. Busch

    Eric T. Busch New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 1999
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you turn the player off and then back on after installing the update? I believe you'll get that error until you do so.
     
  4. ScottH

    ScottH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    71
    Real Name:
    Scott
     
  5. PatrickM

    PatrickM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ouch that sucks. I too upgrade from 155 to 236 but with no problem. I did reset it after I did the upgrade.

    If resetting it doesn't work I'd suggest making another CD but burn it at a slower speed.

    Patrick
     
  6. Andy_S

    Andy_S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. ScottH

    ScottH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    71
    Real Name:
    Scott
    Thanks for all your help. I just put the disc back in and tried it again...this time it worked. The first time I tried it, I never got the "Update Complete" message. Obviously, I didn't know I was supposed to get that message at first so I didn't know it actually never completed (even though the Open/Close/Stop/Pause/#7 trick told me it was 236). Anyway, thank you everyone for your input!
     

Share This Page