1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Help for a home media center system

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Ensey, May 1, 2011.

  1. Ensey

    Ensey New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Home Theater Forum.


    I hope you will be able to solve the problems I have, before I make my investment.


    I've made a picture that shows where I am and where I want to go.






    Also; all items will be connected to my network (except the TV).


    I need to know what kind of adapters, converters or whatever I would need to use to make my current items work.

    I havn't bought the NAS and media servers and they are subject to change, if a better solution is out there - so feel free to give your input. :)
     
  2. CB750

    CB750 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome Christian


    I see than no one has responded to your post. Perhaps this may be in part that you are asking questions concerning equipment connections which are a bit different from what we are used to seeing on this forum. It appears that you are trying to mix a bunch of computer components with some standard AV components into some sort of a hi-bred network system.

    You appear to be trying to use your TV as the hub of your system, and while TV's have a lot of connections they are a poor choice for the job.


    What I see missing from your equipment is the PC to handle the network control, and a receiver to connect all of your equipment together.
     
  3. Ensey

    Ensey New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will have a laptop too, to set the NAS etc. up.

    What other use would you have for the PC?


    Also, wouldn't me having a reciever grant me an extra remote?

    I will already have 2. 1 for the TV and 1 from Boxee / WD TV Live Hub.


    But as I am not entirely into this scene yet, I would very much like to learn more about recievers, so if you have any suggestions - don't hesitate :)
     
  4. David Willow

    David Willow Babbling Idiot
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Hi Christian, The remote can be handled by purchasing a universal remote. Many of us here like the Harmony (Logitech) remotes. I personally have an older 620 model. I have no experience with Apple products (I use Android), but I have to ask why Boxee instead of Apple TV? If you want to control everything with your iPhone, I would imagine sticking with Apple products would work best. Also, are you set on the Logitech speakers? These were created for a computer. If you got a receiver to act as your hub, you could get speakers to that will be powered by the receiver. What is your budget for this project?
     
  5. mattCR

    mattCR Well-Known Member
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,471
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Real Name:
    Matt
    There are lots of questions here:


    (1) Do you expect to or need to have this record / archive Over The Air or CableTV?

    (2) Was there a push behind Qnap, or Logitech, or any of these products? Was there something about it you liked?

    (3) Your X-Box will not easily integrate to the Logitech speakers. This will be an almost impossibility.. I shouldn't say it quite that way, as it is -technically- possible with a series of 6 splitters and an extra A/B box, but talk about a PITA

    (4) Do you have any other devices you expect to watch on your TV? Cable Box? Bluray Player? DVD Player? Sony PS3?

    I think a lot of us are willing to help, the better description for your situation means: what do you expect to do? What do you want to be able to do, more then have sound come out of those speakers?
     
  6. Ensey

    Ensey New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    First off, thanks for the active help already - feels great :)


    @David Willow

    I live in Denmark - so the Apple TV ain't as handsome as it is in the US.

    Besides, it isn't actually availible for purchase here :)


    The budget is pretty much used atm., with me buying a laptop, nas and media server.

    I've thought about just going for 2.1 sound and just used the headphone output on the tv - until I can pay for a better sound system.


    But on that hand, I don't have any knowledge about what brands of sound systems give the best sound for the money.

    I'm not a sound junkie, so standard sound is needed, but I like the chills of sound coming from behind. So surround sound is great. In such case, I would throw a few thousand DKK on a sound system, when it comes to that. So 500-600$ would be the budget for a sound system.


    @mattCR -

    (1): I don't expect to record anything at all.

    (2): I've heard and read a lot of good stuff about QNAP. I'd rather pay more for something that will last for a long time (which is also the reason that my laptop will be from Lenovo, despite the aggressive HP / Acer campains in Denmark). QNAP having a torrent client and itunes server seemed very good as well. But the many possibilities with teh QNAP really had me going. Last, I like the looks.

    For the Logitech - it's an old sound system that performs well and I'm gonna use it, cause I don't have budget for a new one. But I heard good things about it and I never had problems with it - works great.

    (3): With my HD-composite cables, I used 2-way phono-to-mini-jack converter to get the sound on the stereo. Also, PITA?

    (4): What I will be watching on my TV: TV, which is going directly into my TV through MPEG4 / DVB-C tuner, XBOX, Media Server and at some point - maybe a Sony PS3 (budget also - gotta spend that money).


    I want to be able to play my music, movies, series and watch TV on my TV - without a computer involved.

    The only thing a computer should do is rip, transfer and control the content. But the whole system should work, when customized, without any PC turned on.


    It's great with all this response - thanks again :)
     

Share This Page