What's new

Help finding a good HT (1 Viewer)

RAFAEL71

Auditioning
Real Name
RAFAEL BILBAO
Hi. I currently have have a PS3, xbox 360, Wii, and HD-DVR connected to a Bose 3-2-1 system. My TV is a 50in Samsung plasma. I want to replace the Bose with a better system (a 5.1 or 7.1) since I'm not satisfied with it. I am currently looking at these 2 systems:

http://www.us.onkyo.com/model.cfm?m=HT-S9100THX&class=Systems&p=i

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Yamaha+and+Klipsch+Home+Theater+Audio+Package/9999132100050000.p?id=pcmprd132100050000&skuId=9999132100050000

Any thoughts? I'm expecting someone to say that I actually need to listen to the systems and let my ears decide. I was able to listen to system #2 in best buy and it sounded pretty good (however, I'm a newbie and don't really have much to compare with). However, I dont have access to the Onkyo system. The dealers here in Grand Rapids do not have them on display. The review that I read on Cnet was very favorable though. I know that Onkyo is well known for good receivers but not for speakers. And, I know that Yamaha makes good receivers and Klipsch makes good speakers. I guess what I'm looking for here is an expert telling me something like "It's a no brainer, choose system #1" or "It's a no brainer, definitely system #2".

Also, I'm aware that there are probably dozens of other systems that I can get for around $1000, so, feel free to make recommendations for this price point.

Thanks.

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Hi Rafael,

How much can you spend on this project? I see the second system goes for about $1000. Can you go just a little higher ($1200-1400)?

Either way, I would suggest getting both the AVR and the speakers online. Get the AVR from someplace like Amazon and go for internet direct speakers like SVS, Axiom, HSU, and others. For example, for a small increase in the budget, you can get a 5.1 package from SVS plus a nice Onkyo or Denon receiver.