What's new

Help Building Sub.. (1 Viewer)

MikeGee

Second Unit
Hey guys
I need some advice here. I've been looking around on here for some helpful advice on building my own subwoofer.
I would be looking at getting a 12" driver. If anyone had any links, dimensions, wiring diagrams.. anything that can help me do this cause i'm fairly new to this.
I've seen alot of you guys have some pretty awesome home made speakers so your info would be appreciated.
I've been looking around and i really like the Sonotube design.. Any help with this design would be really appreciated.

Bob Kavanaugh

Second Unit
I've built 2 subs using Adire drivers and specs from their website. Like you, I wanted to build a sonotube sub, but I couldn't find any sonotube. :angry: MDF, however, is the ubiquitous building material of our time.

Here's an example of what's out there...

Vented Tempest Applications

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member

I've seen it at Home Depot or you could check your local concrete suppliers.

"Sonotube" is just a brand name for a heavy-duty form for pouring concrete footings. I would think any brand would work in its place.

MikeGee

Second Unit
I can get my hands on Sonotube luckly. Any pages that you guys know of that describe in detail how to go about putting the whole thing together.
There is an electronics store near my house that sells all home audio parts so thats where all my pieces will come from. (I'll get to specifics on parts and brands once i get to the store tommorow)
I just need to really know some tips for putting it together. Especially the wiring the sub with the plate amp. Thanks again!

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member

That's the beauty of building a sub... it's no more difficult than hooking up a speaker to your receiver.

Stephen Hopkins

HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
If you want the absolute easiest way to build a sonosub then check this out...

http://www.creativesound.ca/details....l=EZTUBESHIVAP