What's new

Help!!! Beginner looking for advice! (1 Viewer)

BradStoodley

Auditioning
Hi,

I'm a student in Ottawa, Canada, and I've been very interested in bringing home theater into my life. There are a couple of things that scare the daylights out of me though. Price is my number one concern. I'm looking for something in the 400-500 dollar (canadian) range. That means about 11 bucks American! :D But seriously, 500 max. It looks like the only thing I can get is an RCA HTIB, and those systems don't sound all that hot to me. Can anyone help me? Make some suggestions? Please stop me before I go to Future Shop and buy a shinsonic system! ;) Thanks

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
Maybe you should try a 2 channel HT for now and get the rest of the speakers later, when you have more cash.

$500 breaks down like this -

$200 for the rec. (Used HK, Pioneer or Marantz?)
$150 for the 2 main speakers (Used Paradigms, NHT Zeros, etc)
$150 for a sub (DLS is no longer available, but maybe a new Sony SA-WM40, Used Energy, Def Tech)

I know here in the US you can find entry level DD/DTS receivers for $150 at some stores. Speakers are a matter of taste / budget. Watch the used section here for some good deals - search for what you want.

Good Luck!

BradStoodley

Auditioning
I should have mentioned, I already have a 32" Panasonic TV and a Panasonic DVD player... I just need audio (reciever and speakers + sub)Thanks!

JasonG

Agent
Hey Brad

Good to see another canuck around! If you definitely want to stick to that budget and your looking at a HTIB, then I would have to suggest the system I bought. I purchased it at 2001 audio video and it is the YHTB20 system from Yamaha. For the small space I have it really ROCKS. You get a decent receiver 5 small satellites and a sub. For a starter system I thought the sound was quite good. Just my 2 cents but I like its performance for now, and if I want to upgrade the route is there.

Good Luck with your purchase

JasonG

Shahid

Grip