What's new

Help A Newbie (1 Viewer)

ManicMunky

Auditioning
Real Name
Esham
Hi All,

I am a newbie in HT. Planning to setup one in my home. I really need advices from those who are experienced and knowledgeable in this. All Help would be greatly Appreciated! :)

I currently hook up my Laptop, STB, PS3 to Samsung LED UA32C5000 for display and planning to upgrade the sound system. Currently all are connected to a 4x1 HDMI switch. So now i am left with an AV Receiver.

My objective is to get a decent surround sound where i can enjoy Videos and Audios from my Laptop, STB, PS3.

So this is my plan so far. ( Planning to get as much advices before i start buying my setup.) Planning to get a PIONEER VSX-1020-K but instead of using 5.1 or 7.1 i intend to get a mid-range monitor speakers for the system instead if thats advisable. So this is where i need all the help i can get as i don't know much about it.

- Pioneer VSX-1020-K - Is this model recommended?

- Is it ok to use monitor speakers or stereo speakers instead?

- If so any recommendation?

God Bless!!

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
There's no such things as a "stereo speaker"; and monitor speakers are usually just a general term for a manufacturers line of speakers that have a very flat response curve. Maybe you are referring to using speakers that don't come in a complete 5.1 or 7.1 set. If so, then yes, that's actually the preferred method of acquiring them, except it is best to get the front 3 in the same line. (Usually all the non-subwoofer speakers are from the same manufacturer, and the sub is purchased separately; but using a different speker for the rears and surrounds is not unheard of.)

Apologies if I mis-understoof you question.

ManicMunky

Auditioning
Real Name
Esham
Hey thanks for your reply. Really appreciate it.

SO what kind of speakers shall i get for the said setup that i wanna do?

I do not know if it would be wise to just use a monitor/bookshelf speakers so to speak.