1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Help a Newbie w/ 1996 Mirage!

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones / Entertainment' started by Garrett Lundy, Oct 8, 2003.

1. Garrett Lundy

Garrett Lundy Well-Known Member

I'm a car-audio newbie with a '96 mitsubishi mirage (s coupe), help me get a good audio system!

Speakers: I don't know what size replacement speakers to get. The manual doesn't say, and the crutchfield online 'what fits my car' guide changes it opinion on what size the speakers are ! (one day its 5&1/4, tomorrow its 6&1/2).

Subwoofer: I have a truck, what kind of enclosure is best? (I'm looking for a nice flat Freq. response 20-20,000, no need to cause an earthquake).

Amps: who is a good manufacturer of amps? are the cheap ones as good as the expensive ones in a non-competition vehicle?

2. Angelo_Petralba

Angelo_Petralba Well-Known Member

For speakers (Coax or Component sets) I found CDTs to be a good bargain but EXCELLENT sounding sets for $149.00 for the COMP CL61 Set

For subs and amps:
    I would go with a single sub set-up in a small sealed enclosure with about 400-500 watts.

Amp would be a single 4 channel amp with the front channels powering the CDT's and the Back channels powering the subwoofer bridged.

Sub: Elemental Designs E12K Dual 2 ohms for $135.00 + shipping

Amp: Avionixx 600.4 Class AB amp 110 watts X 4 @ 4 ohms RMS $280.00 + shipping

Im assuming you already have a head unit or you can pick up a nice HU from www.ikesound.com for cheap, like the Blau Casablanca for $95.00 + shipping.

Since I don't know your budget and your Installation skills, I just put together a simple/in-expensive COMPLETE set-up with TOP NOTCH gear.

Breakdown:

HU: $95.00 (Blau Casablanca) + shipping
    AMP: $280.00 (Avionixx AXA 600.4) + shipping
    SUB: $135.00 (Elemental Designs E12K.22 Dual 2 ohms or single 4 Ohms) + shippinf