What's new

Hee Haw - The First Show on DVD (1 Viewer)

Randy Gray

Stunt Coordinator
Wanted to let y'all know that if yer a country music fan and haven't picked this up yet, you really need to. It's put out by Time Life and it includes the COMPLETE first show(even the small transitions at the 1/2 hour mark)plus clips from other episodes. I'm no expert on the audio and video technical aspects but I can tell you that to me it looked and sounded terrific. There seemed to be a few video glitches (was this shot on video or film?) and I believe that there were a few minor dust specks in some of the outdoor sequences. It's nothing that shouldn't be expected for a show of this age. Guests include Loretta Lynn who sings "Your Squaw Is On The Warpath" and Charley Pride who sings "I Can't Help It(If I'm Still In Love With You)" and "Kawliga". Also Sheb Wooley(who wrote the theme song)does a number as Ben Colder, Buck Owens does two songs, Roy Clark does one and Grandpa Jones does a banjo tune. In the bonus section it lists all the guest stars that appeared during the first season so hopefully that means that there will be more episodes coming. The front cover is not from the first show(or even from the first season)but more than likely it's from the early '70's judging by Roy's sideburns. This is one of the few shows that I watched religiously with my folks so talk about memories..."I'm a-pickin'...and I'm a grinnin'!"

Randy

Craig S

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Craig Seanor
Sa-lute!
Wow, I remember watching "Hee Haw" with my parents all those years ago as well. We weren't particularly country music fans, but we enjoyed the show because it was just so silly.
Are the following two ditties (which I can still remember after 30 years) on this disc??
Where, oh where, are you tonight
Why did you leave me here all alone?
I searched the world over & I thought I found true love
But you met another and PBBTTHH you was gone!
Do you dial BR-549 to order the disc?? ;)

Randy Gray