What's new

HDTV is always 16:9 Telecast? (1 Viewer)

kumar

Stunt Coordinator
Hi all,

I am quite new to Bigscreen TVs. I am considering buying a Widescreen TV. I read a lot about burn-ins and I understand your views on it.

Here is my basic question. Does all HD Transmission have a 16:9 aspect ratio?

I have Time Warner in my area and they telecast all the local channels (6 news channels) in HD Transmission plus PBS is in HD. They also offer HBO and Showtime in HD if we have subscribed for it. Now my question is, Does it mean all these channels will appear in 16:9 for me if I have a HD TV and a tuner/decoder connected?

If that is the case, I also hear(from all these sales rep ofcourse) that by 2005 all TVs must have Digital Tuners, which forces indirectly all the networks to go HD. IS that so? Does that mean in the next 2 or 3 years we all will be watching 16:9 at our home always (whether, DVD, or Regular TV)

A long thread. But pls do answer my questions. I could not get all these answers in the HT Primer.

kumar

Stunt Coordinator
Wow! So what the sales rep said for onnce is true. That all the TV Network by 2006/7 will have only HD Transmission.

That will be cool to watch all the sports, movies in 16:9

Thanks Jeremy.

Mark:F

Stunt Coordinator
Sorry to say, it's not exactly so. I have TWC in Syracuse with HDTV, same stations that you have available. The HDTV stations all broadcast HDTV quality, but not all 16:9...the exception is Discover Theater which is all 16:9.
It gets a little complicated-
-HBO and Showtime send along the aspect ratio of the original material, so you get 16:9 when they're showing a widescreen movie or an original show, but if they're showing an old movie or show it will probably be 4:3 with black bars on the side.