1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

HDMI switcher

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Maness57, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Hi, I'm new to the forums and have some video/ tech knowledge.

    So here is my situation:
    I have an Xbox, stereo, and TV.
    I want to split the Xbox's HDMI so i have one going to through the stereo (and then to the tv), and one straight to the TV. i know that i'm going to need a 1 in, 2 out splitter, but i dont know if i will need a switchable one.

    I want to be split so i can listen to music/ radio via stereo and play Xbox at the same time.
     
  2. hotrodguy

    hotrodguy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    L.A.
    Real Name:
    Cliff
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Depending on what AVR you have(which is???), you won't need all that.

    Also, you'll lose 5.1 sound using a splitter cause the TV being 2.0 will dumb the audio down the AVR gets.
     
  4. hotrodguy

    hotrodguy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    L.A.
    Real Name:
    Cliff
    Hey Schan, I think he wants to use two different HDMI inputs on the TV, when he's using the direct one from the Xbox, he can listen to anything else and when he's not, he'll get the5.1 from the Xbox. (At least that's my understanding) :P
     
  5. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    HotRodGuy is correct. And also, what is an AVR?
    Also, there are 2 or 3 inputs on the tv
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Won't make any difference. A splitter is "live all the time". So the TV dumbs the audio down, period.

    But, he might try a HDMI switch wired backwards...but have no idea if that even works. It would solve the 2.0 problem...provided switches work in reverse.
     
  7. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    If it doesnt need to be switchable, than i can get one from amazon or ebay for less than $10
     
  8. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    The TV wont ever need to play any audio in this situation.
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Again...Third time might be the charm...A splitter into your TV dumbs the audio down to 2.0, period...end of discussion.What AVR do you have?
     
  10. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    The receiver is a Pioneer VSX-522
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    On that AVR, you can send an alternate audio into the CD input as analog, optical or digital coax...as long as there is no video connection assigned as well.

    So, pick your HDMI...then pick CD. Then you are watching your game...listening to something else. No, the AM/FM tuner is not one of those things(not many AVR do that at any price).
     
    Maness57 likes this.
  12. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Will that play ipod?
     
  13. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    no it wont, I see
     
  14. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
  15. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Thanks for all of your time, help, and patience so far.
    How do I select Game Hdmi while im on CD?
    I get sound, but no video
     
  16. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You do it the "other" way...

    Choose your video source(Game) then choose CD.

    If that doesn't work...then I don't know what to tell you, cause I've never had an AVR that wouldn't do that. But, I've never owned an AVR that didn't have an original price below $800(most of them were $1200+).

    My "lowliest" AVR at the moment is an Onkyo TX SR707. I play Wii while listening to CDs all the time. I've had Denon(4), Yamaha(2) and Panny/Technics(3) and all them and my current 4(technically 5...have a Denon 4000 something collecting dust in a closet) AVR all do it.
     
  17. Maness57

    Maness57 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Well, it doesn't seem to be working.

    But thank you for the effort.
     

Share This Page