1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

HD Input Stopped Working

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Greg Lovern, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had a Philips 60PP9601 TV for ten years. The HD input seems to have stopped working. I see no signal at all when I attach a blu-ray player or TivoHD to it, but I do see video from same devices if I attach them to the 480i input. Can I replace the HD input myself? Thanks, Greg
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Did you recently switch devices? Like a DVD to a BD player?
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Now I'm confused. You have more than 1 Component connection and 1 HD VGA. Which HD is not working?
     
  4. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm referring to the component inputs.
    Would it make sense to look for a component-to-VGA adapter to use the TV's HD VGA input? Would that be the same resolution as Component?
    Thanks,
    Greg
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Uhh... Have no idea if the simple Component to VGA cable will work. You can find those for
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Here you go...Amazon has a liberal return policy...buy both, return one... http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-CPNT2VGAA-Component-Video-Converter/dp/B0014BL9PO/ref=sr_1_61?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1361151725&sr=1-61&keywords=component+vga+adapter http://www.amazon.com/VGA-RCA-Component-Cable-1-8m/dp/B000FM3EQ0/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1361151838&sr=1-2&keywords=component+vga+adapter (there are numerous ones to choose from. If this works..great. If not, you need the StarTech)
     
  7. Greg Lovern

    Greg Lovern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 1999
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    That should work.
     

Share This Page