1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

HD-A2 Clock

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by proudpeacock, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. proudpeacock

    proudpeacock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Just got my Toshiba HD-A2 from Ultimate Electronics, and with my one (so far) DVD, "Superman Returns", am suitably blown away!! (Watching on the new Samsung 5679 LED Driven DLP set)...all set-up seems to have gone well, except.....it won't let me set the clock (small complaint, I know)..Can set the Time Zone, but then does not let me alter year, month, hour, etc....it's like the buttons on remote do nothing..even though those same buttons work when setting other options.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks

    Ralph
     
  2. proudpeacock

    proudpeacock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    duhhh.....

    Never mind, pilot error on my part. Expected that the hours, minutes, etc. would be set using the arrrows to advance or back down the numbers....never thought to input the numbers using the NUMBER PAD.....

    Thanks

    Ralph
     
  3. buggs

    buggs Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    give us a review... How is the load time? Any stuttering in the playback? I have been waiting on the A2 release and would love some feedback.
     
  4. proudpeacock

    proudpeacock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will likely be Thursday til review, but will give it my best shot then...

    Have lots of background in HD (worked at NBC/RCA/GE when we were testing the various schemes in early 90's), have only had the Samsung with OTA HD for a month or so...

    Will also be limited by my current lack of material ...

    More later...

    Ralph
     
  5. Steve Tannehill

    Steve Tannehill Ambassador

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1997
    Messages:
    5,550
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    DFW
    Real Name:
    Steve Tannehill
    Congrats! And let us know what you think of that LED-driven DLP!

    - Steve
     
  6. Doug^Ch

    Doug^Ch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too just received the HD-A2 and watched my first ever high-def movie - Batman Begins. It was utterly unbelievable how fantastic this movie looked. For the first time ever, My Panasonic AX100U projector blew me away. I have never seen a movie look this good even in a theater. Wow!! Even the best mastered DVDs no longer cut it when compared to HD-DVD especially on a projector. An eight-foot image needs a high-def feed IMO. Prior to buying the A2, the image on the projector with SD looked slightly soft or barely out of focus, but it was blazingly clear and sharp with the Toshiba. I'm now a happy camper.
     
  7. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,341
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Question about the HD A2. Is it PC-based like the A1? I was discussing this player with a fellow HT enthusiast and this subject came up. I did not know the answer.
     
  8. Southpaw

    Southpaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have owned an XA1 for about 7 weeks now and now yesterday I received an A2 from VE. Tried it out today with a SD DVD (Pirates 2: DMC) and HD DVD (M:I 3). PQ and AQ are the same to me. No difference at all between the two. (I had already watched both of these discs on my XA1 prior to receiving the A2). Fuctionality of the A2 is far superior. Load time is less than half of the XA1. No playback problems at all. Remote response is so much better on the A2 as well. To be fair, my XA1 has performed exceptional over the last 7 weeks. Only problem I've encountered was lip sync issue with The break-up on HD DVD. I'm probably going to sell the XA1 and keep the A2 now.
     
  9. Southpaw

    Southpaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    2

    I would say it is still PC based but not as much as the A1/XA1. Response time and load time is much more in line with standard DVD players.
     
  10. Adam Gregorich

    Owner

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 1999
    Messages:
    15,560
    Likes Received:
    644
    Location:
    The Other Washington
    Real Name:
    Adam
    I think it no longer has a pentium and now has a MIPS processor.
     
  11. ryoohki

    ryoohki Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0


    The CPU is a custom Intel LE80554 900mhz/0/400FSB

    THe CPU don't have a FAN just a HeatSink compared to the A1 and AX1 witch has 2 fans..

    I have a pic but can't post it LOL
     

Share This Page