1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

H/K AVR 525 and motorola digital cable box

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Edward Lee, May 1, 2003.

  1. Edward Lee

    Edward Lee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to setup my H/K AVR 525 remote to control a Motorola digital cable box that is connected to Video 2.

    Using code search, no code is found. If I connect the Motorola box to Video 3, and do a code search, it seems to find code 168 which works for about half of the function.

    I then connected the Motorola back to Video 2 and manually entered code 168. This does not work at all.

    Any reason why the remote only works with this cable box on Video 3?

    Is 168 the correct code for the Motorola digital cable box?

    Thanks,
    Ed Lee
     
  2. Andy_Steb

    Andy_Steb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Video 2 is the default for tv and video 3 is the default for cable/sat.What you need to do is reassign the video 2 button to operate cable remotes, you'll find the proceedure on page 41 in the manual "Reassigning device control selectors".

    Also the 525 remote doesn't have good support for the motorola remote. Code 168 will give you a start, but you'll have to learn the codes for the rest of the funtions.See page 38 "learning Codes"

    accually the best thing to do is, forget everything I just said and erase all codes on video 2 and manually program every button on the remote. I know this is a long proccess but it works the best
     
  3. Steve K.H.

    Steve K.H. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. Edward Lee

    Edward Lee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. Edward Lee

    Edward Lee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. Andy_Steb

    Andy_Steb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Codes, codes, learning codes. There are more ways to program the remote than one.

    Method 1 – Find the three digit code in your manual. Your HK remote will now emulate the factory remote.

    Method 2 – Scan code, learn code. Your HK remote will initiate the on/off command for every code it knows. When your cable box turns off or on you have the right code. The code is the same three digit code as method 1.

    Method 3 – learn button. This method is completely different than method 1 and 2. With this method the “code” is the impulses if light given off by the IR diode with every press of a button. In order to learn codes, you place your HK remote head to head with your factory remote. The instructions of how to do this is on the back of your HK remote.

    If anyone can explain this better than me Please jump in.


    Now back to the original posts. I think your using method 1 or 2 and coming up with code 168( if I’m wrong please don’t get mad at my long winded post, just trying to help a fellow out).This is where you’re having problems. Like I said in an earlier post, the HK remote doesn’t support the Motorola cable box very well. If you use methods 1 or 2 you’ll probably be able to use the number keys and the channel up and down, but that’s about it. If you want to use the “guide”, “menu”, or “arrow keys” you need to program them with method 3.

    If you get method 3 figured out I suggest using it for all the commands of your Motorola cable box on video 2.

     

Share This Page