1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Guide to IR repeater wiring?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by JohnA, May 27, 2004.

  1. JohnA

    JohnA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone point me to a guide for installing an IR repeater system?

    Thanks
     
  2. Erik Farstad

    Erik Farstad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. JohnA

    JohnA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Erik

    Thanks for the link. I have a couple of questions.

    I will be cascading several connecting blocks. I plan on placing them in the attic and basement. The problem I can't seem to get around is running the wires from the wall to the components. I want this to look clean. Any ideas?

    Also, I am hoping to use existing cable to wire the blocks and to eaach IR sensor. Can I use CAT5?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  4. KenA

    KenA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massapequa, NY
    Real Name:
    Ken Appell
    Hey John,

    I have a whole house audio system that uses CAT5 for the controls and IR repeating. You could definitely use your existing CAT5 for IR, as long as you have a free twisted pair. What are you using the CAT5 for now?
     
  5. Erik Farstad

    Erik Farstad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    John, as Ken mentioned, yes you can use Cat5...as to how to get your wires to your equipment...it's hard to suggest anything without seeing a layout or pictures of what you're dealing with.
     
  6. JohnA

    JohnA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not completed the CAT5 runs yet. I have about 1000 feet (surplus)I was given from a friend working in IT.

    I will try to post some images of my equipment lay outs.

    Thanks for the replies
     
  7. kumar

    kumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I have a cat5e running from back of my Monitor to my "proposed" equipment room.
    Right now (most likely for quite some years) this will be an open, unused cat5 port.
    How can I use this for transmitting IR signals to my equipments? What all devices(hardware) do I need for this.

    Thanks
    Kumar.
     
  8. Chris Hovanic

    Chris Hovanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    kumar

    I used the IR blaster port on the back of my toshiba. bought some mini plugs at radio shack and sodered the male plug at the tv then hooked some IR leds (got off ebay and got one with my sat box) to the other end in my closet. (if you want some cloesup pics let me know)

    you could do the same if you have an IR blaster out on your monitor. if not you would need to purchase some sort of IR repeater (niles, xantech ect. I like xantech, check this link... http://www.worthdist.com/xantech/xantechir.htm ) and wire a patch cord with a rj45 plugh on one end and wire the other end to the IR dist block. You would need one at each end.

    Hope that helps
     

Share This Page