What's new

Great put-downs of musical 'giants' (1 Viewer)

andrew markworthy

Senior HTF Member
A quotation from Roger Ebert's review of 'Masked and Anonymous':

Perhaps Dylan's genius is to take simple ideas and make them impenetrable. Since he cannot really sing, there is the assumption that he cannot be performing to entertain us, and that therefore there must be a deeper purpose.
Anyone got a similarly good put-down of other revered musical acts?

[Please don't make this a 'we love/hate Dylan' thread.]

MarkHastings

Senior HTF Member
Whenever people talk about Bruce Sprinstein - they say "He's a good song writer" and never mention his voice. :D

Daniel J.S.

Stunt Coordinator
I think Springsteen is a fantastic rock singer. He always sounds emotionally involved in the song, he's usually on key (as a musician, I'd know if he was slipping badly out of tune) and he's demonstrated decent range. You don't need a beautiful voice to be a great rock singer.

Henry Gale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Henry Gale
andrew,

I want to play, I just don't think I get it. Is Ebert's comment, "[Dylan] cannot really sing..." the "good put-down?"

Some of my favorite artists cannot "really sing." Neil Young, Joe Cocker (O.K. he's sucked for 30 years now, but I used to love him)..Tom Waits, Randy Newman, John Prine.

Jim

I'm not trying to destroy the spirit of your thread....right now I'm trying to think of something witheringly funny about Natalie Merchant. :D

John Watson

Screenwriter
I have never read what the Beatles may have said or thought about Elvis after they met him.

My guess is that they were discreet, and didn't utter their thoughts, but I've always been curious.

And maybe John Lennon's speech about the Beatles being more popular than Jesus made them cautious. (If that was before their meeting with Elvis?)

MarkHastings

Senior HTF Member
Beatles being more popular than Jesus
LOL - that reminds me of a joke: