1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Fuse blown in KEF PSW 3000? Pls Help!

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Raakky, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. Raakky

    Raakky New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.
    I have just received my new PSW3000 sub today, and when i was installing it I somehow managed to switch the fusebutton from 230V to 115V. Im currently in the UK, and it should be 230V. Now the subwoofer is dead, and I am hoping it is "just" the fuse that has been blown. I do not know how to change this fuse as it is not reachable on the back.
    I would hope, and beg somebody here can help me, eventually have some experience with the same thing!
    My worst case scenario is that the whole mainboard is gone, but then again why have we fuses for.
    Regards
    Morten
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Did you buy that new? Over here on our side of the pond...it shows circa 2002-2005...
     
  3. Raakky

    Raakky New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    No not new, but bought in Ebay, was in an ok condition. You dont by chance know if the fuse is sitting right behind (inside) of the fusemarker on the backside?
    Morten
     
  4. Raakky

    Raakky New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I managed to chance the fuse today after an operation inside there.
    BUT, now the sub cuts out at higher volumes. It works perfect at very low sound. Any ideas people? IS there something unfixable that is wrong?
    I hear a click inside the speaker, then before it comes back i hear a click in the main board. Sounds like something is shorting, but i have checked almost all the wires in the mainboard/amp board. Cant see any burned things, loose wires or anything broken.
    What can it be?
    hoping you can help me
    Morten
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The only way to "check" the driver itself is to connect another amp to it after you bypass the internal amp. Then if the "problem" goes away...the plate amp is definitely fried.
     

Share This Page