What's new

Full range floor standing kits (1 Viewer)

Geoff C

Agent
Real Name
Geoff
Hiya.

I've inherited a bunch of mdf from one of our construction sites (I'm a contractor), and have a wild hair to try a DIY kit.

I currently have the Axiom M22's on stands with the 150 center and some in ceiling rears and a Hsu STF-2 sub.

I enjoy the M22's, but they do seem lacking as mains for full range music, and are a bit thin at times.

I haven't read the 1000's of pages of DIY threads and info (yet), but am more interested in just finding a kit for now. I don't want to get into the entire acoustical design realm yet. I do have a small but full wood shop though in my garage.

Anyway, most kits I've found through searches, or posts I've read, either refer to one or both of these factors: smaller bookshelves for stands, or "cheap" kits for the starving student.

I'd like a full range setup that doesn't require a sub, but would obviously be helped by one for the LFE of movies.
I must admit though that I want the "full range" portion for two channel music.

AND, I'm willing to spend upwards of $800 for the parts if needed.

4ohm is fine, I will pick up a dedicated 4ohm stable amp if that is the case.

Ideas? Links?

Thanks!! :D

TimForman

Supporting Actor
I second the Extremis based builds. The Extremis is a world class driver and at $99 it's a serious bargain. I can't think of a 6.5" driver that can touch it and that includes the $200+ DST drivers. I built a two-way with a Morel tweeter that hit -3db at 36 Hz! What's just as amazing is that while this driver is pumping out the bass it's handling piano and vocals as if it was a separate mid.

Geoff C

Agent
Real Name
Geoff
Thanks for the replies, I've had a fun time so far drooling over the kits.

One quick question though: It looks like Adire hasn't released any kits of its own yet using the Extremis.