1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

First attempt at Web Page...not going well.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Todd Hochard, Apr 24, 2002.

  1. Todd Hochard

    Todd Hochard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 1999
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having trouble with a web page. Aside from the fact I have no idea how to even get started, I can't seem to get anything to show, except for the main page.
    Check it out- http://home.cfl.rr.com/doriplace
    That page is sort a placeholder, to see if I could get anything there.
    I've uploaded a few images to the /images folder, but can't seem to link to them, and get them to show. There should be a pic at http://home.cfl.rr.com/doriplace/barneyclose.jpg , but I can't get it to appear.
    What am I doing wrong here?
    Yes, I am WAY late to the game, particularly since I work in the semiconductor field. The irony is not lost on me.[​IMG]
    I'm trying to set it up with FrontPage 2000.
    Todd
     
  2. Eric Samonte

    Eric Samonte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 1999
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Frontpage as far as I know (which isn't much) is a bit picky on where it wants to be "published". I also had a hard time trying to put it up on MSN and at the local RoadRunner webpages like ur doing. I instead had to publish it all in angelfire. Try calling tech support at RR,..sometimes ( and I stress sometimes), they can help. Later on, u know, I did got to have it in RR, but was there for only a short time as I already changed ISPs.
     
  3. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,341
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    I see your 5 images at...
    http://home.cfl.rr.com/doriplace/images/
    What name have you given to this page where the images are stored? The defult is "index.html" unless you tell it specifically to look for another name by doing the following for example...
    http://home.cfl.rr.com/doriplace/images/photos.htm
    Note that above, I have named the page "photos.htm" instead of the default "index.html"
    Take a look around my own site which should give you an idea on how to arrange directories and pages for your own site. I keep a seperate sub directory for every page on my site and I keep the default "index.html" as the name for each page so my main page is...
    http://webhome.idirect.com/~orange1 with the page named "index.html" by default. Note that I could also call that url by http://webhome.idirect.com/~orange1/index.html but "index.html" is the default anyway.
    Now look at another page on my site...
    http://webhome.idirect.com/~orange1/images1
    Again, "index.html" is the name of that page so I can drop that from the end of the url.
    and another page...
    http://webhome.idirect.com/~orange1/links
    Try the same convention and see what happens. start by giving us the name of the page/file where you have those 5 pics saved. Use that at the end of the url you gave us.
    Good luck
     
  4. Dave Poehlman

    Dave Poehlman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2000
    Messages:
    3,817
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's good to know a smattering of HTML when putting up a page. It allows you to make quick adjustments to your pages without having to open up Front Page or some other elaborate, bulky authoring program.
    This is where I learned HTML in an afternoon: http://www.davesite.com/webstation/html/
    In fact, you will find that Frontpage puts in a lot of unneccesary code into your page. Not that it's a big deal now that most people have 56k modems, but the code can be hard to disect.
     
  5. Todd Hochard

    Todd Hochard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 1999
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil,

    For some reason, I can't get any of your pages to come up. Keeps timing out after a long wait.

    The image link above- if I wanted to insert an image into a post here (or other places on the web), is that a valid link? The picture (barneyclose.jpg) is in that exact location, but when I click on that link, I get "page not found."

    I can go to the images directory, and click on the links to get the pics to come up, but again, for some reason, I can't get them to appear as images in posts (they are 800x600, 60K or so- is the size the problem?). For now, the whole purpose is to get those old car pics posted and linkable to advertise the car for sale at various websites.

    Totally confused.

    Todd
     
  6. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,341
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    [​IMG]
    Right-click on the image, then properties to see the address
     
  7. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not really h elping out much here, but all Ican say is stick with it! I preserved my First Webpage before Prodigy Classic Went under. http://www.ninjaturtlesnetwork.com/HTML/first.htm .
    Notice the hunt and peck type nature of my typing, and the refusing to double check my spelling [​IMG]. A Year earlier, I was just starting to get online for the first time, and wondered why my NG posts, typed all in caps no less, whern't showing up immediatly. Ahh, those where the days.
    Of course, you can check out the base address of that site to see what my current pages look like. I don't think their too bad, considering I'm self taught....
     
  8. Todd Hochard

    Todd Hochard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 1999
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured it out. the .jpg extension is in caps (the resize feature of WinXP must have done that for me). Apparently, it's case sensitive. I thought I could quit worrying about that long ago. [​IMG]
    Thanks, Neil, for the help.
     
  9. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    The server that is actually hosting your page could very well be a Unix-based (Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris -- Mac OS X [​IMG] ) server, which is case-sensitive.
    Even server software that runs on Windows might check case sensitivity so that things won't happen to work on Windows, and then break when you move to a Unix server.
    //Ken
     
  10. Darren Lewis

    Darren Lewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    I first started learning HTML and webpage stuff almost exactly one year ago. The case-sensitive stuff is a real pain. Some servers don't mind but a lot still do.

    I created a few "rules" for myself. Might not be the best way, but they work for me. Check out my sig for my latest creation.

    1. Name all the files in complete lower case. Don't use any caps.

    2. Stick to one extension either .htm or .html (either seems to work OK.

    3. Keep all site images and icons in one directory eg /images. Easier to refer to, and you know where everything is then.

    4. Make sure each folder has an index.html page even if that page is blank. This can be useful if you want to stop people seeing your directory listing.

    5. Server paths and links can be a pain, especially when you need to update them. Design your site on paper first and name all the directories how you want them. Changing at a later date can be a tedious job.

    I can really recommend "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Crating a Web Page". I read that book and learned a heck of a lot from it.

    There are a few threads on here on which software to use etc. I won't go into that, but use whichever you find easiest and which works for you.

    Good luck!

    Darren.
     

Share This Page