What's new

Finally--my 1st case of "DVD rot"? (1 Viewer)

Peter McM

Screenwriter
Real Name
Peter
I've been building a DVD library for almost 10 years. I recently loaned one of my early acquisitions to my mother: Robert Duvall's The Apostle--which I've watched numerous times, though not in quite a while. It would not work on her player, which had just been bought for her. I tried it on three other players, plus the PowerDVD drive in my computer. It won't work in any of them.

I used to read on this forum about this happening a lot more than I do now. Is this still an occurrance with some early discs? How about more recently produced titles?

Mark Zimmer

Senior HTF Member
If you've watched it a lot, check to see if there is a little crack in the hub; that can often happen with regularly used discs, and it can make the disc unreadable.

Jeff Swindoll

Supporting Actor
Had the disc show any oddities the last time you got it to play. My experience with LD rot was that speckles would start to appear and eventually the LD wouldn't play. Just curious.

David_B_K

Advanced Member
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
David
I have never seen "DVD Rot" replicate laserdisc rot. As Jeff says, every case I ever had of laserdisc rot manifested itself as colored sparklies in the picture. Sometimes only one side of a disc was affected, and the disc could last for some time, albeit with video noise. Columbia Tri-Star LDs seemed particularly prone to "rot". I even bought a laserdisc on ebay that had "rot". The seller disagreed that the disc was defective "because it still played" which is rubbish.

I've had about 5 DVDs succumb to...something. A couple were completely wiped clean. You could load it, and it was essentially a blank disc. A few others began to play badly, and skip around, which made them unwatchable. 3 were Universal, one was Warner, and one was Criterion.

Peter McM

Screenwriter
Real Name
Peter