What's new

Fan for built-in cabinets (1 Viewer)

zachjen_335652

Auditioning
Real Name
zach
I just moved into a house and it has built in cabinets (pic attached). Of course the wife would like to have everything inside of them. I really have no problem with that I just want to do it right. Anyone have suggestions for a good media cabinet fan? The components will go in the cabinet on the left side of the fireplace. I was planning to exhaust the heat into the wall with the fireplace. Too hot? Anybody see problems with that or have any better ideas I would appreciate your input as this is my first time dealing with all this.

Also I need advice on ir extenders. No glass on the cabinets. I will have a receiver, Xbox 360 and Comcast cable box inside the cabinets. will I need to have multiple ir receivers sitting outside the cabinets?

HT.jpg

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
If it is hollow back there, you could make two square cuts and vent right into the wall cavity. Then you can use 1, or 2, temperature controlled outlets...
http://www.amazon.com/Lux-Heating-Cooling-Programmable-Thermostat/dp/B000E7NYY8/ref=sr_1_2?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1372787464&sr=1-2&keywords=thermostatically+controlled+outlet (programmable)

Then it would just circulate into the wall. The one above...blow into the cavity, the one below draw air back in from the wall cavity.
http://www.amazon.com/AC-Infinity-AI-CFD120BA-Cabinet-Amplifier/dp/B009CO543S/ref=sr_1_5?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1372787295&sr=1-5&keywords=120+vent+fan

Just make sure you install the fans so they are relatively easy to remove to clean. Looks to be enough room you can put those in where you can still pull them out.

And the fan I linked is just one, of many, examples.

zachjen_335652

Auditioning
Real Name
zach
Some of it is an exterior wall so there is insulation in some of the wall. But that may work. I guess i need to find out where the insulation starts and stops.

Bobofbone

Second Unit
Real Name
Bob