1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Emotovia UPA-5 Amp Question

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Charlieetzel127, May 6, 2010.

  1. Charlieetzel127

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I just purchased the UPA-5 as the first part to upgrading my system. My next purchase will be the UMC-1, in the meantime I have an old Sony reciever STR-DE 935, is there any way I can hook up my amp to this reciever so I can hear how the amp sounds,the reciever has a 2nd audio out connection but I am thinking that I will not be able to contrl volume if I hook the amp up this way to the reciever. I plan on purchasing the UMC-1 in the next few weeks along with one of Emotovia's subs. But meanwhile I would like to see if I can use the amp in any way with my reciever ? Charlie
     
  2. Ed Moxley

    Ed Moxley Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern NC
    Real Name:
    Ed
    Amps connect to a receiver's "Pre-Outs". Your receiver doesn't have Pre-Outs, so I don't think you can connect it. Sorry. Maybe someone knows a way that I don't.
    Good luck.........
     
  3. John Brill

    John Brill Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can get a "Speaker to Line Level Converter". Depending on the cost, it might be cheaper to upgrade the receiver to one that has pre-outs.
     
  4. Charlieetzel127

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the information, I am looking for the chepest way I can if possible to use the amp until I order the UMC-1. Will a line level converter work and about how much do they run.
     
  5. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,572
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Yes, a line level converter will work but you will need one for EACH of the 5 channels. They can be found from very inexpensive to expensive; expensive being $65 for one channel and inexpensive being maybe $8-10. I would simply wait until you get the UMC-1.
     
  6. Charlieetzel127

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I think it will be better to wait as well, don't want to risk screwing up the Amp, just hate having it and not knowing how much better it will make my system sound compared to my old Sony reciever. I am trying to finish my basement at the same time so money is a little tight now. Thanks
     

Share This Page