What's new

DVD upscaling/upconvert help (1 Viewer)

BigMike79

Auditioning
Real Name
Mike
I am completely new to the whole "theater" scene. I am coming from the same tube tv I have had from the mid 90s.

Anyway, I am having problems with DVDs in upconverting DVD players. The picture is very grainy and pixelated, and doesn't seem to be upconverting at all. In fact, it almost seems worse that the old tube tv picture. I have tried 3 different "upconverting" DVD players so far, so I assume it is not the player, but something else. I am completely new to all of this and need some help.

The TV is a 37" LG LCD, 1080P, 60Hz. (model 37CS560)

The HDMI cables I am using are these Daytons; http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=181-772

The receiver is a Denon AVR 1610.

Is the problem the receiver or cables? Maybe the TV? Do I need to adjust some sort of settings? Again, I am completely new to all of this.

Thanks in advance.

Richard V

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Richard
Do you have connections going from your cable/satellite box going to your DVD player, then from there to your TV?

BigMike79

Auditioning
Real Name
Mike
Richard V said:
Do you have connections going from your cable/satellite box going to your DVD player, then from there to your TV?
There is no cable box involved, just the TV, DVD player and receiver.

I have a HDMI cable going from the DVD player to the DVD HDMI input on the receiver, and another HDMI cable going from the HDMI out on the receiver to the TV.

BigMike79

Auditioning
Real Name
Mike
schan1269 said:
Well it isn't a "the DVD player sucked" problem.Did you turn on 24p?If you did...turn it off.
How do I know if I have the 24p turned on or off? I assume they are just set to whatever the default is.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam