1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

dvd recorder question

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by rick stein, Mar 31, 2003.

  1. rick stein

    rick stein Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys tried this question on computer thread but i got no response.Does anyone know what i need to record off of sattelite or vcr.Can i do it with dvd recorder in computer or do i need a stand alone from pioneer or panasonic.If i can use computer dvd recorder what do i need for audio video input please please please any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. Steven Simon

    Steven Simon Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1998
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You would need some sort of Capture card in your cpu as well as a dvd burner drive. I think Dazzle is making some sort of Capture system... Once you capture the Sat, or cable on your HD, depending on what kind of capture card you have, you may have to re-encode your product before burning to dvd..... Get a capture card that does MPEG, so you can burn to VCD or SVCD.... Will be cheaper for you, and you can use cd's....
     
  3. rick stein

    rick stein Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks steven the computer came with the 64 mb nvidia geforce mx420 is that what you mean by a capture card? But it only has av out how would i get the signal into the computer?
     
  4. Steven Simon

    Steven Simon Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1998
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The most ideal way would be to have a capture card that could encode MPEG video on the fly. The cheaper cards only encode AVi, and that takes up to much space.... The Mpeg encoders are more expensive, but will require much less Re-Encoding and save you time.....
     
  5. rick stein

    rick stein Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How much and where would i get this card would it be cheaper to get stand alone recorder like pioneer?
     
  6. Steven Simon

    Steven Simon Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1998
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For recording TV shows, a stand alone is a no brainer.... Easier to use, and you don't have to worry about any of your CPU hardware....

    Only limitation is you can't really author menus... To me that's no big deal....
     
  7. Steven Simon

    Steven Simon Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1998
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also Onecall.com has the Pani DRM E30 on sale!!! [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  8. joe jackson

    joe jackson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 1999
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check you local Target stores, I got the Panasonic E30 on clearance for $299. They had four at the store I was at....they are all gone now. They had been marked down to 349.
     
  9. rick stein

    rick stein Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I basically got the computer for the dvd recorder now it looks like i wasted my money about the only thing i can do with it that i couldn't do with my cheap ass webvd is post on this site.What do i need with a 2.53 pentium 4 and all that other crap if i can do everything with webtv
     

Share This Page