1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Dual Subwoofer Setup Question

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Paul_III, Jun 18, 2003.

  1. Paul_III

    Paul_III Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I wanted to add another subwoofer for the heck of it(I have two, one's just sitting around right now), what would be the best way to do it. My receiver is a Denon AVR-3803 and on the back there are white (L) and red (R) outputs for all the speakers - front, surround, etc. For the subwoofer the red output is labeled "subwoofer", while the white output is labeled "center". Would I royally screw something up if I ran the white "center" output to the additional subwoofer, or do I need some kind of splitter to split the signal from the red "subwoofer" output?
     
  2. ColinM

    ColinM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do the splitter. Experiment by first putting them on top of each other in the same location, shoot for a balanced sound from each unit alone, then combine and adjust the master sub level to taste.

    Then some day try seperating them and see what happens.

    Do you have a good calibrating disc?

    SPL meter?
     
  3. Paul_III

    Paul_III Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't have an SPL meter. I have the AVIA calibration disc.
     
  4. Armand G

    Armand G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2000
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Certain Subwoofer brands swear by connecting their subwoofers to the speaker terminals (Amp) and High level input (Subwoofer). I for instance have two subwoofers. One is for LFE only (Subw. out on Amp), the other one for Surround (Surround speaker terminals + Highlevel input). It works excellent. Bass is all around know. Much better spread through the whole room.

    Remember placement is crucial. I did a test by putting a subwoofer on the listening position to establish the highest smoothest output. In my case there were two locations in my room which were suitable. I then placed the two subs on these exact spots. It's working fine for me. I don't no if it works out formy neighbours too [​IMG] .
     
  5. Armand G

    Armand G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2000
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    A question: Are these two subwoofers exactly the same? If there not it's not recommendable to split the signal but to follow another route.
     
  6. Paul_III

    Paul_III Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah ok, thanks! Actually these subwoofers are not the same brand, so I'll try setting them up similar to what you mentioned.[​IMG]
     
  7. Armand G

    Armand G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2000
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another tip. In my case I noticed a decrease of bass on my LFE (.1) channel. The solution is to use subwoofersetting LFE+MAIN on your denon.

    I have the following settings installed on my DENON AVC-A1 SR(AVR-5803):

    Fronts=large (2 x B&W DM 640i)
    Center=small (MS 905 C)
    Surround=large (2 x B&W DM 604 + Rel Strata III via Highlevel input (Neutrik speakon on subside and three bare wires on Surround speaker terminals)
    Surround Back=small (2 x B&W DM 602 S3)
    Subwoofer=Yes (REL Storm .1 Channel)
    Setting THX fixed
    Subwoofer setting= LFE+MAIN

    Hope this helps.

    Best regards,
    Armand
     
  8. Paul_III

    Paul_III Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again Armand, I'll play with it over the weekend and see how it works out.
     
  9. Armand G

    Armand G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2000
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Front speakers=large only possible setting to get the large setting on the surrounds.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page