What's new

Dual Hsu VTF-3 : My 2 cents (1 Viewer)

Sean D

Stunt Coordinator
Ok, first off let me start off by saying that I am not a reviewer or an audiophile. I am an enthusiast with a half decent ear. :) I am also a drummer/guitar player (primarily drums) and have spent many hours on stage/studio with a bass player. So I suppose I have a basic idea on how the rhythm section is supposed to sound when reproduced. This past Tuesday I received my two Hsu VTF-3 subs from AV123.com. The subs were dual boxed and came with a yellow envelope containing the manual, some DVD recommendations for deep bass as well as deep bass music. A cd was also provided that contains 5 songs (classical with some good bass material) and three different pink noise variations.
My room is approx. 26' X 16' X 7.5', a fairly large room. I am using Swans Diva 6.1 mains, Swans Diva C3 center, Swans Diva 2.1 as rears, powered by an Anthem MCA5 mkII with an Outlaw 950 pre/pro.
Before I get to the sound I will say that these subs look much better in person than the pics I've seen on the net but that is usually the case with most gear. They are built like a tank. They weigh 85lbs. each. I'm not sure what the finish is made of but I doubt very much that any harm could come to the finish without a lot of effort. The subs are black, they kind of look grey in the photos I've seen. The subs come with a removable port blocker for max extension mode. There is a switch on the back for max extension or max output mode as well as switches for phase and crossover in or out. The power cord is also removable. There is a decent sized heat sink sticking out of the back as well (which has yet to get beyond barely warm). The subs also came with a cheater plug for those who may need it.
The grill is removable with a flat jeweler screwdriver or something similar (butter knife), to expose the driver which has the letters HSU in the middle of the cone. Kind of cool looking if you are a "grills off" type of guy like me.