What's new

DTS Audio Distortion (1 Viewer)

DaBod

Auditioning
Real Name
Jesse
I recently upgraded to blu ray and purchased a Sony BDP-S580. I have it running audio via coax to my Sony DA555ES receiver and noticed over the weekend that certain movies produce a significant amount of audio distortion, specifically in dialogue. This only happens when the disc is encoded with DTS Master HD audio (anything in Dolby sounds fine). I read somwhere that while my receiver can process DTS, it (because it is a little older) cannot process DTS Master HD. Could that be the case? When I go into the audio settings on the blu ray player my only option is to downmix to PCM, and thus I lose DTS. If what I read is correct, is there any possible way to fix this without the purchase of a newer receiver? I am still fairly new to home theater systems, so please excuse me if some of my terminology is incorrect.

DaBod

Auditioning
Real Name
Jesse
Thanks much! I was kind of afraid that the best option was to get a new receiver that has HDMI capability. Any idea why some sound just fine in DTS and others terrible?

DaBod

Auditioning
Real Name
Jesse
Originally Posted by Michael Reuben
The distortion is much more prevalent in dialogue...sound effects sound fantastic. I noticed a significant amount of distortion in the movie Secretariat, however little or no dialogue distortion came through in Master and Commander or Knight and Day...all three of which were encoded with DTS Master.

Don't get me wrong, the PCM downmix still sounds really good, I am just spoiled by seeing the blue multi-channel decoding light on my reciever. Would it be possible to bypass not having an HDMI input on the receiver by simply sending both audio and video through the HDMI to the TV and then audio out from the TV to the receiver via coax or optical? Or might that put me in the same boat I am in now?

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton