1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Does your BD player experience layer change pause?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by ManW_TheUncool, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,945
    Likes Received:
    30
    Real Name:
    ManW
    I'm trying to figure out if that's what I'm seeing w/ my month-old Panny BD60.

    I never had a layer change pause w/ my 2-yo PS3 (before it stopped reading discs) nor noticed any for DVDs on my old Denon 2910, but I'm seeing what looks like a 1-to-2-sec layer change pause on quite a few BDs *and* DVDs w/ my Panny BD60.

    I don't recall seeing anyone mention layer change pauses (for BD players) on HTF in the last 2 years, so I'm wondering if it's just me (and a substandard BD60 and/or some substandard BDs) or if people have merely accepted it all along -- well, those not using the PS3 (or probably the Oppo BD83) anyway.

    I did a quick google and did find a little bit of mention elsewhere about layer change pauses on Panny players (and probably most others), including over in AVS. But there's not a whole lot said about it to confirm for me that's really the case. So figured I should ask here and see...

    Thanks in advance...

    _Man_
     
  2. mylan

    mylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have never noticed layer changes on either DVD or BD on my 1yr. old Sony S350 but I sometimes did on regular DVD on my Denon 2910 and I had quite frankly forgotten about them until you mentioned them. Either that or they are so slight now that I don't notice.
     
  3. Ed Moxley

    Ed Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern NC
    Real Name:
    Ed
    I've not noticed one on my Oppo.........
     
  4. Toronto Argonauts

    Toronto Argonauts Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario Canada
    Real Name:
    David Thompson
    I have never noticed any layer change pause on my 1 year old Pannasonic BD35.
     
  5. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,945
    Likes Received:
    30
    Real Name:
    ManW
    Hmmm... I wonder if my player just needs a firmware update.

    _Man_

    PS: I'm testing out another browser (Bolt) on my Blackberry for this, so sorry if something looks odd w/ this post.
     
  6. Zack Gibbs

    Zack Gibbs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,687
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wow, it's been years since I've seen a layer change interruption. I haven't thought about it for so long I find it oddly nostalgic.

    Maybe you should list the titles you're having problems with, and where/when the problem occurs.
     
  7. Scott Merryfield

    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    11,446
    Likes Received:
    651
    Location:
    Michigan
    I've never experienced any layer change delays when playing a BD on my Sony S350. I cannot speak regarding SD-DVD playback, since I use a separate Oppo 980H for those discs.
     
  8. EricW

    EricW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe you could post the specific times during playback that the pauses happened.
     
  9. Stephen_J_H

    Stephen_J_H All Things Film Junkie
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,529
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    North of the 49th
    Real Name:
    Stephen J. Hill
    Another Sony S350 user here. No layer change pauses.
     
  10. Joseph Bolus

    Joseph Bolus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 1999
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    43
    [SIZE= larger]This is a known problem with the Panasonic BD-60/80 series players.[/SIZE]

    The latest firmware update, Ver 2.2. totally fixes this issue.

    Here's the link to download it and burn it to a CD-R:

    http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/bd/download/bd60/index2_na.html

    NOTE: If you're running Windows Vista or Windows 7, you will need to burn the firmware update with the free CDburnerXP utility; otherwise the player won't be able to complete the firmware update. Also, BE SURE to use a CD-R disc. It won't accept a DVD-R (or any other flavor of recordable DVD media.)

    Good Luck! I had this same issue with my new BD-601 player which I purchased over the holidays, and this firmware update not only fixed this issue but also greatly increased Blu-ray loading times!
     
  11. ManW_TheUncool

    ManW_TheUncool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    5,945
    Likes Received:
    30
    Real Name:
    ManW
    Thanks, Joseph.

    I'll give that a try.

    _Man_
     
  12. JeremyR

    JeremyR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Real Name:
    Jeremy
    My DMP-BD60 has done it in teh past, but I haven't updated to 2.2 I don't believe. I'll let you know what I find out.
     

Share This Page