1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Dish hddvr hdmi connection problem!

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by PatrickMiller, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. PatrickMiller

    PatrickMiller Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    My dvr is connected to my Pioneer vsx-520 via HDMI and out to Samsung PN50C550 via HDMI but tv does not recognize.It works straight to tv. Have tried every input(3), my bd player works in each! Ive read the Dish and tv manual, no help. Any help is appreciated!
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,264
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    You have eliminated the TV as the issue. If you used the same cable to test the Dish receiver as you did the Blu-ray, then you eliminated the cable as the issue. The only thing left is the Dish equipment.
     
  3. PatrickMiller

    PatrickMiller Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont understand, if signal is passed thru cable why would dvr not allow it thru rec.?
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,264
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Because Dish has been know to have features disabled in software as well as poor quality hardware. If you want to check, DBS Talk dot com has a section devoted to all things Dish.
     
  5. PatrickMiller

    PatrickMiller Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay, rechecked my manuals, no help unless I missed something. I was beginning to think my optical was bad cause it doesnt work out of BD plalyer to rec. or dvr to rec. but I can see the light in the end. Does that mean it is def. working? Dvr has no digital coax but BD does, it worked fine! Ive tried both optical inputs on rec. Guess I will try component later and check out that site, thanks!
     
  6. PatrickMiller

    PatrickMiller Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got hdmi audio to work by switching from dolby/pcm to pcm, switched back and it still works! Im keeping my fingers crossed! Im bummed that the rec. isnt doing optical cause it is new but I dont need it now so I will live with it, doesnt seem worth returning to amazon! Thanks all!
     

Share This Page