What's new

Digitial Video Recording (1 Viewer)

JohnShah

Auditioning
As a father of two young children, my wife is constantly pleading with me to videotape our kids activities.

I had a high-8 video camera, but i dont really care for it and I wanted something more modern that I could hook into my computer and burn onto dvd.

I am new to the digital stuff, but I heard there is a a digital tape and one with a memory stick (like my diigital camera).

Any recommendations.

Looking for something relatively simple to operate, that takes nice videos, that I can hook to my computer for dvd copying and that is not going to break my wallet (i would probably go 500-1000 range)

Thanks.

Citizen87645

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cameron Yee
You have two primary digital video options: miniDV and Digital 8. Digital 8 is backward compatible with the 8 and Hi-8 formats. If you have a large library of video shot on the 8 format going D8 is a nice option. Of course this means size of the camera will be larger than miniDV b/c miniDV tapes are physically smaller by about half the 8 format.

If you just want to start fresh, miniDV would be the way to go.

There are also DVD camcorders out there, but AFAIK they are designed primarily for convenience given the adoption level of DVD players. If you plan to do any editing then the process is not straightforward for importing from these cameras. If you're looking for the true next step beyond tape, wait for camcorders that record onto hard drives (which are starting to be used in the broadcast market).

JohnShah

Auditioning
Any recommendations on a particular model to purchase. Something that takes really good video. Don't care about the stills, plus everyone says the video stills don't compare to a digital camera. I was looking at a Canon ZR90, but now they have the Optura line, which seems even better. Any advice?

Thomas Newton

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas Newton