What's new

cost conscious newbie (1 Viewer)

Shawn Bridges

Auditioning
Hello everyone. I am very excited to find this forum. Before I make any purchases I do research, and lots of it. This forum has provided me with more than enough! Maybe even too much.:D I am new to HT but have always wanted to have one, even if it’s not top of the line. With all the major fiscal priorities, entertainment funds have been next to nothing. I have just got rid of my 16 year old GE 21 inch console TV, and replaced it with a JVC AV32D303. I am quite happy with it, though as I have learnt here I need to calibrate it.:) Now I want to move on to the HT experience, so every dollar I make on the side, which is not that much, I am socking away.

The only questions I have right now are pretty generic. Is it possible to configure a decent system piece by piece in the $500 to $700 range (preferably closer to the $500)? Or is HTIB the way to go? If HTIB is an ok option are they all upgradeable or are some too integrated. For instance I have heard that some of the Panasonic’s HTIB have hard wired speakers so that even changing the wire is out of the question.

Sorry for the long winded intro,

Shawn

Jeremy:L

Agent
FWIW, here's what I did. I was also on a next to nothing budget.

Pioneer VSX-D411 - $150 on sale at 6ave.com (incl. shipping)
Sony SS-MB300 (fronts) - $69 on clearance at Vanns.com (normally around $99)
Sony SSC-R305 (center and surrounds) - $95 from CC
Sony SA-WM40 (sub) - $129 from Sears (hurry! when they're gone, they're gone!)

I think I did as good as one can possibly do for around $500. My only other option was a HTIB, and the above sounds FAR better than any HTIB's I tested. The only other thing I'll be doing in the near future is replacing the surrounds with Sony SS-MB100's.

Good luck, and feel free to PM me with any questions if you want.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member