1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Component input switch for my single comp. input tewee

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Kevin Nolan, May 1, 2003.

  1. Kevin Nolan

    Kevin Nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sony RPTV that has only one component vid input. I know there are several products on the market that will give me 2 or more. BUT there is one and I can't remember who makes it but it accepts two input and switches automaticaly...anyone know or recall who makes it?
    Kevin
     
  2. Ottis Fletcher

    Ottis Fletcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know what you mean. You'd figure that TV makers would realize by now that people require several component inputs in this age of home theater....but they do not. My TV has two component inputs for six component devices, it's not a devastating problem because I can easily get behind my set, but never the less a pain in the ass. Anyway I was looking at this one here. It may be pricey if you only need one or two more inputs, but I can guarantee that you will need more as time goes on.
     
  3. george king

    george king Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    It depends on how much you want to spend, and whether you want remote control options. I use a sony composite A/V switcher that you can buy for $30. Just plug the three component leads into the L-R and Composite video jacks (you must do this the same way for each item you want to switch). Run your output the same way to the tv,and push the button to switch components.

    This is a passive switch, so bandwidth is not an issue.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. David J. White

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    At the other end of the spectrum is the Zektor.com unit, which works by remote control switching.

    Dave W
     
  5. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,183
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Kevin Nolan

    Kevin Nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all who repiled...I found what I was looking for through your posts, the "Inline" unit is all I need![​IMG]
     

Share This Page