What's new

Complete newbie getting first home theater. Tell me what to get! (1 Viewer)

ScubaERDoc

Auditioning
Real Name
Hi!
Hi, please excuse my complete ignorance, I am new to the home theater world and doing my best to learn!
After more than a decade of hooking up computer speakers to my TV, I am planning to get my first home theater system to compliment my soon-to-be wall mounted 70 inch Sony TV. I want to get something not outrageously expensive (looking for value, hopefully under $1000 but am flexible with price) but something good enough that my face will melt off slightly. My new place looks pretty modern and would like to deal with minimal wires as possible, especially since I have 0 experience setting up these systems.
I was at Costco looking at this Sony system yesterday. Does anyone have any experience with this?
http://www.costco.com/Sony-BDV-T79-Blu-Ray-Player-Home-Entertainment-System.product.11759103.html
Thanks!

Dave Upton

Audiophile
Reviewer
Real Name
Dave Upton
HTIB systems are very varied in terms of performance - i'd strongly recommend looking for some reviews on known systems to get a baseline. Some of the better contenders in this space are combination systems. Something like the Definitive Technology Pro Cinema 600 and a mid range receiver would be a great option. Or if you can handle slightly larger speakers - piecing something together like the Energy Take series with a receiver and sub could sound excellent.
So, to help find you the right solution let me get a couple of questions answered:
1. Are you okay with full size speakers (towers) or do they need to be smaller?
2. How comfortable are you with having wires running to an area behind you for surround?
3. Is it okay to have a moderately sized subwoofer in the room somwhere?
4. How many HDMI inputs do you need, do you need AirPlay or DLNA support?

ScubaERDoc

Auditioning
Real Name
Hi!