1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Comcast HDTV - picture in picture?

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by Nick Breckon, Jan 26, 2004.

  1. Nick Breckon

    Nick Breckon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys. Quick question - does Comcast HDTV allow picture-in-picture if your TV doesn't have a built-in tuner? If not, how do you achieve picture-in-picture with the box that they give you? Do you need to buy another box?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Garrett Adams

    Garrett Adams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2000
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rather you buy a little 8" TV set and place it in the corner of the bigger screen. [​IMG]

    Seriously I don't think it's possible to utilize PiP between OTA broadcast and cable (or cable/cable).
     
  3. Nick Breckon

    Nick Breckon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump.. hate to do it, but does anyone have any ideas? I mean, I find it hard to believe that PiP is completely dead with the advent of HDTV (provided you don't have an internal tuner).
     
  4. NickT

    NickT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick
    Well, unless the cable box has more than one tuner, then the best you can get is the analog channels with PiP. As far as I know, no cable box has duel tuners that is used by any cable company. You can use 2 cable boxes, but they both will respond when you use the remote which changes channels on them both. Since your TV doesn't have a tuner, even putting a 2 way splitter won't due you any good if you did want to at least have the analog work with PiP.
     
  5. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    The problem is with trying to display 2 different formats on one display. Most TV's disable PIP for the component inputs because component inputs can accept many formats (480i/p, 720p, 1080i), whereas composite and s-video only accept 480i. You simply cannot display a 480i image in a PIP beside a 1080i image without a digital upconversion and most TV's do not do this (none that I know of anyway).

    So, to answer your question - If you want PIP functionality with your Comcast HD box you have to hook the box's "through" cable to the TV's coax (NTSC) tuner input and hook the box's S-video out to the tv's s-video in. PIP the coax tuner from the s-video input. You can now tune the PIP from the TV's tuner and the non-PIP from the box. Note, this requires the HD box to have an active s-video output, not all COmcast boxes have this activated. It also means you cannot PIP any HD sources. If your TV has no (NTSC) internal tuner at all, you are out of luck.
     
  6. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most of the current model year TVs on the market can handle PIP or at least side-by-side display of HD and other sources. Sometimes some of the modes available with two 480i sources aren't available. Older HDTV monitors may not handle PIP with HD at all, since their PIP logic hadn't been updated yet to handle it.
     

Share This Page