1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Comcast Cable box setup question

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Tony Mc, Aug 16, 2004.

  1. Tony Mc

    Tony Mc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got Comcast Digital Cable in my home. I was wondering on the setup for the type of aspect ratio, what should I setup with?
    720P or 1080i ???

    Thanks much,
    Tony
     
  2. DarrenHo

    DarrenHo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    which ever one your display supports natively.
     
  3. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15


    1080i and 720p are resolutions and scan rates, not aspect ratios. As said above, you should set it up for whatever your set supports natively. List your set and we can give you some hints. You should set your box's (if it is a Motorola) "4:3 override" to 480i or 480p so that anything broadcast in SD will display in 480i/p and not be upconverted. This will allow you to use the stretch/4:3 modes of your TV instead of the box. Often the stretch on the box just displays in "Full" (uniform stretch) whereas the TV modes offer more alternatives.
     
  4. Scott Merryfield

    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    11,453
    Likes Received:
    654
    Location:
    Michigan

    I set my 4:3 override to 1080i to solve a problem particular to my Toshiba 56H80 TV. Whenever I would change channels from an HD channel to a non-HD one, my TV would briefly display wavy colored lines as it changed its scan rate/resolution from 1080i to 480i/p (I tried both). This caused my TV's convergence to get thrown off. Setting the Motorola box to output everything at 1080i solved this problem.

    I couldn't figure out for the longest time why my TV's convergence was continually drifting. I was adjusting convergence every couple of days before discovering the cause of the problem. This may not happen with other HD models, but it is something to consider.
     
  5. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Scott, I have a 56H80 and do not have that problem. I see the lines as the set switches resolutions, but the convergence is rock solid.
     
  6. Tony Mc

    Tony Mc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a front projector. The Sanyo PLV-Z2.
    Here are the specs as shown on projectorcentral.com:
    Compatibility:
    HDTV:1080i, 720p
    EDTV/480p: Yes
    SDTV/480i: Yes

    Display:
    Aspect Ratio: 16:9 (WXGA)

    I was mainly concerned with the setting for the "4:3 override". I'm now getting two answers: 16:9 & 480i/p.
    I guess I'll be trying them both.

    Thanks much for all your help!!!
     
  7. Scott Merryfield

    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    11,453
    Likes Received:
    654
    Location:
    Michigan

    That's interesting, Jeff. It's possible that the convergence board in my TV has a slight defect. Since the set is no longer under warranty, though, and this simple setting seems to correct the issue, I am not going to worry about it unless I have other problems.
     

Share This Page