What's new

College degree = worthless (2 Viewers)

Robert_Z

Screenwriter
My ex, who has no college education and is 5 years younger than me, just got a job making 60 percent more money than me. I have a bachelor's degree and 10+ years experience.

Going to college was a bigger waste of time and money than I ever imagined.

benjaminBen

Stunt Coordinator
i have a tendacy to agree with you. I just recently spoke at a college and realized how little they know about the real world, because alot of these college professors have no idea what goes on in the real world.
that being said i wouldn't have this job if it wasn't for me getting a degree, but nothing i learned in college helped me to be more successful....

CRyan

Screenwriter
It can be, depending on the field.

However, it is getting to the point where a degree is only as good as the masters program you pair it with. In business, you need that masters to make the money.

ThomasC

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas
What kind of degree did you get, Robert? What kind of job does she have?

KurtEP

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Kurt
A lot of people have proven that you can get places without a college degree, but you need a lot of hard work and dedication, little or no risk aversion and plenty of good luck.

These days, an undergraduate degree is just a way to get doors open, but that can still be very important. Plus, the highest paying professions (medical doctor, dentist, pharmacist, attorney, engineer, accountant, etc.) all require at least a bachelors degree, and more likely grad school.