What's new

Can 2 version of OSX be run on the same Mac? (1 Viewer)

Carlo_M

Senior HTF Member
Hey all,

I'm probably going to buy one of the iMacs or Mac Pros whenever they are refreshed. But I have an interesting question: can two versions of OSX be run from the same Mac, either via different partitions on the same HD (if I buy an iMac) or via two different internal HDs (if I buy the Mac Pro + 2 internal HDs)?

I ask because I am a Pro Tools user, and Pro Tools is often several weeks to months behind on making the product compatible with the latest build of OSX. So what I'd like ideally is to have 2 versions of OSX on my next Mac.

One, which I'll use for everything non Pro Tools related, will run the latest and greatest version of OSX the day (or two) after it's released.

The other version will be the last stable build of OSX that Digidesign has signed off for Pro Tools compatibility (which will likely be one build behind the other).

Anyone know if this is possible? Will I be able to install different versions (which will initially be the same version at first) on either different partitions or different HDs?

Thanks!

DavidJ

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
David
I know that you can do this using an external drive. We keep a external firewire drive with a base system and utilities to use in maintenance and repair. It does not have to be the same OS. I would expect that you might be able to do the same thing using Bootcamp.

I feel your ProTools pain. We just had to do a clean install and step through old OS updates to get to just the right version. It can be a pain.

Carlo_M

Senior HTF Member
I'd rather not boot from an external drive. Yes I could get a FW800 external but it still wouldn't perform as quickly as an internal SATA drive. I know when I boot from my FW800 external on my Macbook Pro--when I clone to it, then boot from it and clone back to "defrag" the drive--when I boot from an external it never performs as fast as the drive that's in the computer.