What's new

Calabrating a Sanyo Z4 (1 Viewer)

John Menoni

Stunt Coordinator
It looks like I'm going with the Z4. The lens shift on the Z4 has sold me. I now have options I didn't have when I was leaning on the BenQ 7700. I read that the projector does a very poor job in interlacing 480i. I'm getting a Denon 1920 DVD player or an OPPO that upscales the image. I also have a directv HD Tivo that gives the option of 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i. If I take the time to calibrate the projector, do I need an external video processor? I origionally was under the impression that since my Tivo can do 480p, I would be O.K. Can anyone reccomend some literature that can get me started with the calibration? This is my first projector and I know nothing about calibrating. I'm more of an audiofile than a videofile. :)

MikeTatH

Auditioning
Just tweak the controls if you are not a videophile. HQV DVD is one of the things you can use to calibrate.

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
Just get a proper calibration disc such as Avia or DVE and go from there, it's not that complicated really when you're starting out. I know it can get sounding really complex really fast, but that's just sort of Nth degree stuff, the basics are pretty straightforward. White, black, color, and here sharpness will probably ne neutral or zero.

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member

Calibrating and the need for an external processor to do de-interlacing/scaling are two different things. As recommended above, let one of those discs walk you through a basic calibration.

Jay Mitchosky

Senior HTF Member