1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Blu Ray Player as connection point?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by SoundHound, Jan 16, 2014.

1. SoundHound

SoundHound Member

Karl
    Hi, Im new to the picture& audio world and I have a few questions.

Is it possible to buy a Blu Ray Player and use it as a connection point to my ps4, ps3, tv-box, and speakers and then hook it up to the TV, since my TV only has 2 HDMI outputs and no audio outputs.

So I dont need to go behind the Tv and change HDMI all the time.

2. Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton Ambassador

Jason Charlton
    No. A Blu-ray player doesn't do that.

The simplest solution is to use an HDMI switch like this. It has a remote for switching inputs and will allow you to connect all your devices to the switch, then run one HDMI from the switch output to your TV.

What are these "speakers" you mention? If they are connected to your TV directly, then you're getting stereo only, no real surround sound. The HDMI switch won't solve that problem - to really get the best audio performance from your devices, you need something more capable - an Audio/Video Receiver.

AVRs are intended to serve as the hub of your system - connect all your sources to the receiver, connect your speakers (assuming they are "real" speakers and not powered computer speakers) to the receiver, and connect the receiver HDMI out to your TV. The AVR then provides the highest quality audio and video possible for all your sources.

3. Keith Plucker

Keith Plucker Premium
    Supporter

Keith Plucker
    As Jason mentioned, you will need to get an HDMI switcher or an AVR. If you are interested in a receiver, you might check out accessories4less.com. They carry factory refurbished gear and usually have some good deals.

-Keith

4. schan1269

schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

Sam