What's new

Beginner w/Pre-installed in-ceiling 5.1 (1 Viewer)

OpieInWashington

Auditioning
Real Name
Bradley
I'm a beginner to home audio. Have a new home and it is pre-wired with in-ceiling 5.1. Yes I know most of everyone on here is completely against in-ceiling, but that's what I've got. So please no comments on how much in-ceiling audio sucks. I myself love music and movies, but the primary purpose of the room is for movies. The room is 18' 5" X 17'. I've already purchased a sub (Polk PSW505 that I got for a great deal). I'm now in the process of selecting a receiver and speakers. The 3 receivers I'm choosing from are Onkyo TX-NR515, Pioneer VSX-822k and the Yamaha HTR-4065 (all of which I found under $225).

The speakers is where I'm having the problem deciding. My choices that I've found are Polk RC80i's for the front and RC60i's for the rear (confused as to what to use for the center channel). HTD HD-R65AIM's for the front and MP-R65's for the rear or Monoprice 4929 (8" angled) for the fronts and Monoprice 4619 (6 1/2" glass composite 3-ways) for the rears. With all of these I'm lost as to what to use as the center channel since I am aware that it is the most important. The reason I'm looking at the angled ones is because the location of the front speakers is about a ft from the wall, so I need to angle them more towards the center of the room.

I'm not looking for anything crazy. But I do want something that sounds decent to the average listener. If need be, I'm willing to install the center channel on the front wall, but need help determining the location of said speaker and also which one to use with each setup that I have chosen. Also, how will it sound having the center channel on the wall and the rest of the speakers in the ceiling?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Once again I am aware that in-ceiling setups are kinda frowned upon, but this is what I have to work with.

Thanks

Adam Gregorich

What to watch tonight?
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member