What's new

AudioSource Amp Three Question (1 Viewer)

NickK

Auditioning
Ok... probably a dumb question here, but figure I will ask. I am rather new to alot of the HT stuff, but I am working to catch on quickly as I am addicted to the whole HT way of watching movies, etc.

I have an Onkyo TS-DS797 receiver which I was bi-wiring my front speaker thru (I have Mirage OM-10's). I recently purchased an AudioSource AMP THREE to power these and get them off my receiver (figured they could use more power). My question is... the AMP THREE has an A and B speaker(for a pair each) output. Can I use all four outputs to bi-wire my speakers? Does this even make sense to do? Currently I have one set coming out of the amp split into two sets going into my speakers for bi-wiring.

ANy help is appreciated. And if this had too simple an answer or if it was too dumb a question... sorry. I'll learn eventually as long as I keep up reading this forum.

Michael R Price

Screenwriter
Yes, the A and B outputs are in parallel so connecting A to your woofers and B to your tweeters is the same as splitting one output. Just be careful wiring it up. I damaged my Amp One when I re-wired my speakers and accidentally shorted the output.

How does the new amp sound compared to your receiver?

NickK

Auditioning
So far it sounds great. I feel it has a much clearer sound.. though some may say it is a bit "bright", I am impressed. There are some sounds from my speakers on some DVD's that I swear I didn't hear before. It also seems as if now my center and rears are doing much more as well. I don't know... is it possible that by removing the load of powering my front speakers from my Onkyo, that it is now able to do a better job on the rest? I have always loved how my Onkyo sounded, and was surprised that it got even better when I added this amp.

Thanks for your answer to my question. I'll be sure when I wire it up, to not short it out, by accident.

Adam.Gonsman

Stunt Coordinator
Nick,