1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Are 50GB dual layer BDR and BDRE smaller than pressed Blu-Ray retail discs?

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by JediFonger, Mar 12, 2014.

  1. JediFonger

    JediFonger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    24
    i'm making backups of my purchased blu-rays that I own in fear of it being destroyed in a fire or scratches.
    I have discovered that # of Blu-Ray movies actually have more sectors/data than a blank BDR or BDRE, how is that possible? Back in the DVD5 or DVD9 days... it was the same across the board. a DVD9 could have been burned to DVD9 Dual Layer no problem.
    Touch of Evil UK import for instance has 1GB over the limit. 47GB vs. 46GB that BDR and BDREs allow... this is strange... I just thought *ALL* BDs were supposed to adhere to the same standard just like DVD9 rips can always be burned on DVD9 Dual Layers. I never had to overburn on those no matter how much the original DVD9 was, I always found a way to fit it. BD25 that are over can fit on BD50 if needed but anything over BD50 I have no idea... what do you do on these?
    if I overburn it would error out and the BDRs would be a coaster. if I truncate I get playback errors and burned copy won't verified properly against original ISO or BDMV folder.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. mattCR

    mattCR Well-Known Member
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    10,469
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Real Name:
    Matt
    Yes and no. 50gb is actually slight less because it's measured in 1000mb per gig instead of 1024, but in a home burned disc it also has to write an open TOC which costs you some.
     
  3. JediFonger

    JediFonger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    24
    so for bd that is full it is impossible to duplicate 1 to 1?
     
  4. Dave Upton

    Dave Upton Owner
    Owner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Real Name:
    Dave Upton
    The simplest solution is to strip out an extra m2ts for a preview or something from the ISO. Surely the previews aren't that important :)
     
    FoxyMulder likes this.
  5. JediFonger

    JediFonger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    24
    yes but there is no previews in this. do i just manually delete the m2t i dont need?
     
  6. Dave Upton

    Dave Upton Owner
    Owner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Real Name:
    Dave Upton
    Yes. You are generally best off opening the stream file in MPC-HC, then if it's a preview or something worthless, just delete it.
     
  7. JediFonger

    JediFonger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    24
    hmmm i will test this out wont this cause playback issues later on?
     
  8. Dave Upton

    Dave Upton Owner
    Owner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Real Name:
    Dave Upton
    Nope. Worst case, the BD-J skips missing streams . I usually use AnyDVD and strip out all the previews. It's got an automatic option for that.
     
  9. JediFonger

    JediFonger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    24
    didnt work :(i removed about a 1gb of bonus content i didnt need :(
     
  10. Dave Upton

    Dave Upton Owner
    Owner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Real Name:
    Dave Upton
    I'll link a guide to you.
     
  11. Dave Upton

    Dave Upton Owner
    Owner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,322
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Real Name:
    Dave Upton
    Try ClownBD as it can strip out previews for you automatically. Otherwise follow a guide from videohelp or doom9.
     
  12. JediFonger

    JediFonger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,955
    Likes Received:
    24
    it worked dave! not with clownbd but i reripped it w/o any auto deleting of short segments then j just manually deleted the 1gb bonus stuff and the disc plays! when you try to play the missing content it just clicks back into the menu lolz
     

Share This Page