What's new

Any good pay as you go phones/plans out there? (1 Viewer)

GuyMaren

Agent
I've been using Tracfone for about 3 years now. I'm not a heavy user and don't roam much, so I can't comment on their coverage (or lack thereof). But it's always worked when I used it.

Also, it's cheap for a casual user like me. They offer a 1 year card for about $95.00 with 150 minutes plus, with e-mail coupon, an extra 100 minutes. 250 minutes is far more than I use in a year, so it costs me less than $10.00 per month to have an emergency phone in my glove compartment.

Drew Bethel

Screenwriter
Thanks Guy, that's exactly the kind of plan I'm looking. Now I have something to compare plans with. Thanks.

Christian Behrens

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Christian Behrens
Anybody else with some info? This is something I'm also very interested in, not having a cell phone right now, but realizing it is mighty handy when you're stuck in traffic and want to alert a friend that you're being late...

-Christian

Chris

Senior HTF Member
My wife uses Virgin.. we switched from tracfone.. one basic reason:

Trac is always ~35 so cents a minute..
Virgin Mobile is 10 cents a minute after the first ten every day. Which is a much cheaper deal.

Coverage area is good, support is good, and their plan is reasonable. Easy to manage with them too, and nicer phones with nice features.

http://www.virginmobileusa.com/

JohnS

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John Steffens
I also use Virgin.

great range and the price is resonable.

I'd recommened Virgin also!!

DwightK

Second Unit
Been using Verizon Free-up for a few years now and it is averaging $15 per month. That is with the minimum $30 card (or addition) every 60 days.