What's new

Any fellow Canadians ever order a receiver from SoundCity? (1 Viewer)

BrianL

Auditioning
I'm looking at ordering a refurbished HK 225 receiver from Soundcity (Soundcity Outlet) and I have a couple of q's. This is my first time ordering a large item from across the border so I was wondering what sort of "hidden" costs might I expect beyond the price of the receiver and shipping. I know I'll have to pay PST and GST but will that be it? I also understand there will be duty as well but am unsure how they calculate that. I also hear the term "brokerage fees" being mentioned by some. Also, will warranty be a problem since the unit is meant for the US?

Thanks in advance

Phil Levy

Stunt Coordinator
If you really want to order out of the US, I highly recommend using a Borderfree affiliate such as etronics.com or ecost.com. Both have a "Canadian checkout" button that will give you a landed price ALL IN to your door, in Canadian dollars. You also won't have to personally deal with any hassles that may arise, etc.

You can look up other borderfree affiliates on borderfree.com but those are the two main ones for home theater gear.

BrianL

Auditioning
Thanks for the heads up. I've considered ordering from ecost but the problem is that ecost is not an official HK approved dealer so any products purchased from ecost will not be covered by HK's warranty. From HK's website, SoundCity is an official e-dealer but I'm wondering if the warranty would even apply if the unit is shipped to Canada. I'm also wondering if the total "landed" price that is computed by ecost would be the similar to the price if I went the SoundCity route. Does anyone know the answer to the above two questions?

Phil Levy

Stunt Coordinator
If you buy from a US dealer, I'm pretty certain you do not get a warranty regardless.