What's new

American Made Speakers (1 Viewer)

Greg.G

Stunt Coordinator
I justed wanted to get an idea of what American-made speakers are out there on the market. I only know of SVS but what are the others?

PaulT

Supporting Actor
That is difficult to say without some caveats in these days of Globalization.

Do you mean American Made with American Parts (SVS uses Canadian Made Plate Amps), American Assembled with all Imported parts, American Designed with parts and Assembly outsourced, etc etc. You see what I mean.

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
What Paul said—it is pretty hard to know where each component is sourced. Plus the sourcing often varies from run to run.

ACI has a reputation of being an American-made company. I know for sure that their very excellent cabinetwork is done in the US—except for the ELT system. I have no direct knowledge of where they source their components.

There are plenty of US-based, custom speaker companies—many of them one or two man shows. Once again it is difficult to know where they source their components.

Tony Genovese

Supporting Actor
Vandersteen, Thiel, some Infinity, some JBL, McIntosh, M&K, Merlin, Martin-Logan, Boston Acoustics, Phase Technology among others. That said, most good drivers come from Scandinavia (Denmark, Norway).

Brett Frank

Auditioning
Theil, Infinity, Jbl, McIntosh, Martin-Logan, Boston, Phase Tech all have part made overseas in some of there product (mainly cabients)

Danny Tse

Senior HTF Member
Some Boston speakers are made overseas. Same goes for some NHTs. Polks are made in Mexico, and same with some JBL. Although you would be surprised that some Pioneer speakers are designed and build in the US.

Dave Moritz

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave Moritz