1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

A question to all lawyers about public perception of lawyers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Thik Nongyow, Aug 3, 2002.

1. Thik Nongyow

Thik Nongyow Well-Known Member

This is question for all practicing or retired lawyers (other people do not reply!) on this forum:

With the "Stella Awards" thread regarding frivolous lawsuits in mind, how do you react to the demagogic attitudes of some people, the media, literature, popular culture etc. regarding the legal profession and lawyers as opportunists? Are the attitudes disturbing, ignorant, misguided, absurd or downright slanderous?

2. MikeF

MikeF Well-Known Member

3. Dennis Nicholls

Dennis Nicholls Well-Known Member

Dennis
    I was an engineer, working in defense, for 18 years before I ever dreamed of becoming a lawyer. Then them damned Russkies gave up and my defense career evaporated. So at the age of 40 I began law school, taking the CA bar and the US patent "bar" upon graduation.
    I do think that the country would be in better shape with respect to the legal profession if more lawyers had done something else prior to going to law school. I know I got a lot more out of it at my age. Having a background at just making a regular living would help a lot of lawyers.
    But lawyers in general are not nasty devious folks. There are a few that worship money but that's true in many lines of work.
    I got tired of working the hours in a law firm so I now work in the legal department of a corporation as a patent attorney. Patent attorneys do real work as the handmaiden of inventors. And when patent litigation occurs it's the real thing: hundreds of millions (if not billions) of dollars are at stake. So I personally don't do "bullshit" legal work: neither do any of my peers.